A Better Workshop: Jim Knight’s Partnership Approach

I am currently reading Jim Knight’s Unmistakable Impact: A Partnership Approach for Dramatically Improving Instruction.  There is a chapter in the entitled “Workshops That Make an Impact.”  It discusses how workshops can be a valuable tool for presenting ideas, but not taking the traditional lecture approach that has stunted the growth of the education profession for years.  Instead, Knight says, workshops should take a partnership approach using the following principles: equality, choice, voice, reflection, dialogue, praxis and reciprocity.  The partnership approach, including these seven principles, are explained at this website: Partnership Learning.   In a previous chapter, Knight also talked about the value in using checklists as an instructional tool.   Though Knight explained the use of a checklist as an instructional tool for instructional coaches to use with their colleagues, I found it advantageous to develop a checklist for Knight’s partnership approach to workshops.  The advantage of the checklist is that it simplifies things.  As any speaker knows, having an effective presentation is an art in and of itself.  Checklists simplify preparation for a presentation a bit; it provides focus and key goals that should be accomplished.   I took Knight’s seven principles for the partnership approach to workshops and put them into a checklist.  Here it is: Workshop Checklist.  Please take this and alter it to fit your needs.   Also, let me know your thoughts on using such a checklist, or if you use anything similar.

4 thoughts on “A Better Workshop: Jim Knight’s Partnership Approach

  1. I throughly enjoyed this post. I love the idea of checklists. Checklists make the presentation crisp, clean, and well oragnized. I read over the Workshop Checklist and the one thing I do like is how each attendee is given a red flag for when he/she would like to speak. I also like how the attendees are given many different options. Very sharp looking.

  2. Meredith Anderson

    Hi, my name is Meredith and I’m a student at the University of South Alabama. I love your blog. There’s a lot of good information on here! I like the idea of the checklist. I feel like it really helps to organize workshops and keep the speakers on task. Thank you for posting!

Leave a Reply

